The public launch of the Inaugural Sustainable Retirement Incomes Leadership Forum was held in Canberra on the 2 and 3 June 2015.

The Forum was about more than networking, debating and ideas: it was about how we as an industry, community groups, academic experts and media work together to play a leadership role in creating sustainable retirement incomes for all Australians.

The event featured keynote addresses from:  Mr David Murray AO, Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, Mr Chris Bowen MPDr Cassandra Goldie (ACOSS), Dr David Gruen (PMC) and  Professor Andrew Podger AO.

It also covered a number of panel sessions involving significant political commentators, academic experts and industry leaders including Ms Cath Bowtell, Mr Jeremy Cooper, Hon John Dawkins AO, Mr Craig Dunn, Dr Craig Emerson, Dr Vince FitzGerald, Dr Mike Keating AC, Dr David Knox,Mr Michael O’Neill, Professor Bob Officer AM, Ms Patricia Pascuzzo, Ms Sally Patten, Ms Nicolette Rubinsztein, Senator Arthur Sinodinos AO, Professor Miranda Stewart, Ms Laura Tingle, Hon Amanda Vanstone, Professor Peter Whiteford and Mr Ian Yates AM.

The Forum Communique signed by a range of industry and community groups including ASSA, ACOSS, COTA, CSRI, ISA and NSA agreed to a number of important principles for reform and to collaborate and engage widely in the pursuit of purposeful reform. The CSRI looks forward to working with these organisations and other groups moving forwards.

The Programme for the Forum can be found here.

You can see excerpts from addresses from CSRI members by clicking on the links below:

“Setting Objectives” – Dr Vince FitzGerald, June, 2015

Government’s Role” – Dr Michael Keating, June, 2015

Reviewing the System’ – Patricia Pascuzzo, June, 2015